WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

Women’s right in workplace at the heart of a panel with UN WOMEN

A panel on women's right in the workplace, was organized as part of the International Women's Day (IWF 2017), in a joint-partnership with UN Women, Total Senegal, Sanofi and Sonatel, during which several speakers spoke about well-being of women at work, forms of harassment at work and, above all, their representation within companies.

Oulimata Sarr, Regional Economic Empowerment Advisor of the UN Women’s Central and West Africa office, said during her presentation that the operational roles still remain in the hands of men in companies.

According to her, the economic empowerment of women requires the promotion of women’s entrepreneurship within private companies, but also the promotion of diversity and the inclusion of women in those companies. Hence the introduction of a certification known as ’’ Edge Certification ’’ which enables companies to be assessed in the field of gender equality.

It is important that women’s diversity and inclusion are reflected in the world of work, enabling women "to explore their potential," Mrs Sarr said, adding that Senegal "can do better even though a lot of effort has been made in terms of gender parity in the National Assembly.

"We would like this parity to be effective in other sectors of activity. Senegal can do better for women’s entrepreneurship. And we intend to invest for the success of this bet, that is a 50/50 planet by 2030.

Oulimata Sarr further noted the importance of gender-sensitive statistics in building strong advocacy, recalling that UN Women has developed a flagship global program of $ 60 million to help governments produce the best gender-disaggregated statistics and to strengthen the national statistic agencies.

She also came back talking about the campaign of solidarity #HeForShe launched by UN Women since 2014 and whose goal is to involve men in the fight for gender equality and the rights of women .

Other speakers, such as the sociologist Fatou Sow Sarr, emphasized "burnout’’ which she believes has a strong impact on women, hence the need to build day nurseries in companies.

Total Senegal’s company doctor, Dr Khalifa Cissé, talked about psychosocial risks in companies and the importance of health at work.

Daly Dia, a member of the Lawyers Association of Senegal, Dr Babacar Fall, Medical Officer of the Sonatel Medical Department and Dr Amy Ndao Fall, francophone Sub-Saharan Africa Medical Director, in Sanofi were part of the panelists of the round table.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Le droit des femmes au travail au coeur d’un panel avec ONU FEMMES.

Dans le cadre de la Journée internationale de la Femme (JIF 2017), un panel sur le droit des femmes a été organisé en partenariat conjoint avec ONU Femmes, Total Sénégal, Sanofi et Sonatel, au cours duquel, plusieurs intervenants ont évoqué le bien être de la femme au travail, les formes de harcèlement au travail mais surtout leur représentation au sein des entreprises.

Oulimata Sarr, conseillère régionale sur les Affaires économiques du Bureau régional d’ONU Femmes pour l’Afrique de l’ouest et du centre a, durant sa communication, estimé que les rôles opérationnels restent encore entre les mains des hommes au sein des entreprises.

Pour elle, l’autonomisation économique des femmes passe par la promotion de l’entreprenariat féminin au sein des entreprises privées mais aussi la promotion de la diversité et de l’inclusion des femmes dans ces mêmes entreprises. D’ou la mise en place d’une certification surnommée ‘’Edge Certification’’ qui permet d’évaluer les sociétés dans le domaine de l’égalité des genres.


Il est important que la diversité et l’inclusion des femmes se fassent ressentir dans le monde du travail permettant ainsi aux femmes ‘’d’explorer leur potentiel’’ a poursuivi Mme Sarr, avant d’ajouter que le Senegal ‘’peut mieux faire’’ même si beaucoup d’efforts ont été fait en matière de parité à l’Assemblée Nationale.

‘’Nous voudrions que cette parité soit effective dans d’autres secteurs d’activité. Le Sénégal peut mieux faire pour l’entreprenariat féminin. Et nous comptons nous investir pour la réussite de ce pari qu’est une planète 50/50 d’ici 2030.

Oulimata Sarr a en outre relevé l’importance des statistiques sensibles au genre pour bâtir des plaidoyer forts, rappelant qu’ONU Femmes a développé un programme phare mondial de 60 millions de dollars pour aider les gouvernements à produire les meilleures statistiques désagrégées par le genre et à renforcer les agences nationales de la statique.

Elle est également revenue sur la campagne de solidarité #HeForShe (Lui Pour Elle) lancée par ONU Femmes depuis 2014 et dont l’objectif est d’impliquer et faire participer les hommes dans le combat pour l’égalité des genres et les droits des femmes.

D’autres intervenants comme la sociologue Fatou Sow Sarr ont mis l’accent sur ’’l’épuisement professionnel’’ qui a, selon elle, un fort impact sur la femme, d’où la nécessité de construire des crèches dans les entreprises.

Le médecin d’entreprise de Total Senegal, Dr Khalifa Cissé a lui évoqué les risques psycho-sociaux dans les entreprises et l’importance de la santé au travail.

Daly Dia, membre de l’Association des juristes du Sénégal (AJS), Dr Babacar Fall, Médecin Chef du service médical de Sonatel et Dr Amy Ndao Fall, Directrice médicale Afrique subsaharienne francophone de Sanofi, ont fait parti des panélistes de cette table ronde.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR