WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

The Belgian Deputy Prime Minister visits the United Nations in Senegal

West Africa is affected by a large number of security threats, which often see women being the first victims. This population is one of the most vulnerable, especially in the case of human trafficking that often results in forced sexual exploitation of women and young girls. They are lured by false promises of employment by traffickers who move them away from home and force them into prostitution to pay off their debts. Therefore, the sexual and reproductive health is of utmost importance. Particularly when the authorities tend to consider the victims as perpetrators of prostitution and not as victims of exploitation.

In this context, the Belgian Deputy Prime Minister, M. Alexander De Croo, who further acts as Minister for Cooperation and Development of the Kingdom of Belgium, came on mission to Senegal between April 26 and April 27. His visit occurred following the international conference "She Decides" which took place in January 2017. This conference was conducted in response to the recent decline in resources that are allocated to development by international partners, in particular for sexual and reproductive health. After visting Benin, the Minister accompanied by UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, singer Axelle Red, UNFPA Goodwill Ambassador, Goedele Liekens, and various media representatives from Belgium, led his delegation to Dakar to meet with UNICEF, UNFPA and UNODC agencies.
After a briefing at the United Nations Information Center (UNIC), which took place on April 26, the delegation visited the implementing partners. The briefing focused on the challenges and main interventions of the three agencies on sexual and reproductive health, as well as on the protection of women and children from abuse, violence and trafficking in persons.

UNODC, UNFPA and UNICEF work with implementing partners in Senegal, which provide direct assistance to the most vulnerable. UNODC supports several associations working with women victim of gender-based violence and trafficking in persons. In the framework of the Regional Strategy for Combatting Trafficking in Persons and Illicit Smuggling in Migrants (2015-2020), UNODC has identified as a priority the direct assistance to victims of trafficking in persons and to vulnerable migrants. During its visit, the Belgian delegation chose to meet with the implementing partners so as to measure the impact of the activities supported by the United Nations.

On April 26, 2017, the Minister first visited "La Maison Rose", a safe-house where dozens of young women, victim of violence or rape, are living with their children. The shelter was founded by "Univers’elles", an association supported by UNICEF and UNODC, which assists these young women and their children. It was founded 8 years ago and now forms "a reconstituted family" for women that have been the victims of rape, as declared by the founder of the "Maison", Mona Chasseiro. Finally, the organizational plan of the Departmental Committee for the Protection of Children (CDPE) was presented to the delegation, which gave the opportunity to demonstrate to them that the association is working closely with Guediawaye and Pikine’s local stakkeholders, as well as allowed them to meet the men and women involved in the support of victims.

During his visit, the Minister also chose to meet with Samu Social, an other UNODC implementation partner, which is an international organization fighting exclusion in all its forms. In Senegal, this organization helps street children, that have been victim of abuse and exploitation by forced begging. Indeed, tens of thousands of young boys commonly called Talibés are forced to beg through Senegal, as part of their Islamic studies in schools (called daaras) administered by Koranic masters. All the work of the Samu Social aims at getting these children off the streets in order to help them be reunited with their families and communities.

As soon as they arrived at the shelter in Ouakam, the residents of the center, children between the age of 5 to 15 years old, welcomed the delegation with songs and after visiting the premises, the delegation began a discussion with the members of the team. The Samu Social insisted on the ill-treatment inflicted on Talibés by some Daraas chiefs, and specifically highlighted the need for psychological assistance of these children. Indeed, most of them have been traumatized and are now affected by a phenomenon of paradoxical over-adaptation to the hostile environment of life in the streets. The director of the Samu Social, Isabelle De Guillebon, acknowledged that the situation in Senegal has evolved over the past years, however she also expressed the need for a stronger and lasting political-will in order to put an end to the issue of forced begging and street children.

The day ended with a speech by M. Alexander de Croo at the reception at the Belgian Embassy in Dakar, where Coumba Gawlo, Goodwill Ambassador of UNODC, was also in attendance and shared her recent experience encountering women in the informal mining sites of Kedougou, that have been victim of trafficking and forced into prostitution.

Finally, in April 2017, UNODC established new partnerships with four organizations and structures specialized in the identification and assistance to victims of trafficking. These are Univers’elles, Empire des Enfants, the CEGID and Action Enfance, which will each receive between 30,000 and 40,000 USD for projects lasting one year.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Le Vice Premier Ministre belge visite les Nations Unies au Sénégal

L'Afrique de l'Ouest est une région affectée par un grand nombre de fléaux dont les femmes sont souvent les premières victimes. Cette population est plus vulnérable, notamment dans le cas de la traite des personnes, débouchant souvent sur des formes d'exploitation sexuelle forcée. Elles sont bercées de fausses promesses d'emploi par des trafiquants qui les déplacent loin de chez elles et les forcent à se prostituer pour rembourser leurs dettes. Par conséquent, l'importance de la santé sexuelle et reproductive est primordiale surtout lorsque les autorités tendent à percevoir les personnes concernées comme auteurs de prostitution et non comme victimes d'exploitation forcée.

Dans ce cadre, le Vice Premier Ministre Belge Mr Alexander De Croo, également Ministre à la Coopération et au Développement du Royaume de Belgique a effectué une visite au Sénégal entre le 26 et le 27 avril. Sa venue s’inscrit dans le cadre du suivi de la conférence internationale « She Decides » qui a eu lieu en janvier 2017. Cette conférence, en réaction à la récente diminution des ressources allouées par certains partenaires internationaux à l’aide au développement et à la santé sexuelle et reproductive en particulier, avait pour but de mobiliser des ressources pour les organisations qui souffrent de cette réduction budgétaire. Suite à un passage par le Bénin, le Ministre, accompagné de l’ambassadrice de bonne volonté de l’UNICEF en Belgique, la chanteuse Axelle Red, de Goedele Liekens, ambassadrice pour l’UNFPA et de divers représentants des médias de Belgique, a conduit sa délégation à Dakar pour rencontrer les agences UNICEF, UNFPA et ONUDC.

Après un briefing au Centre d’Information des Nations Unies (CINU) sur les défis et les principales interventions des trois agences en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive et de protection des femmes et enfants contre les abus, les violences et la traite des personnes, la délégation s’est rendue auprès des partenaires de mise en œuvre.

L’ONUDC ainsi que l’UNFPA et UNICEF ont des partenaires de mise en œuvre en commun au Sénégal qui travaillent dans le but d’apporter une assistance directe aux personnes les plus vulnérables. L’ONUDC soutient plusieurs associations qui œuvrent auprès des femmes victimes de violences basées sur le genre et de traite. En effet, dans le cadre de la Stratégie régionale de lutte contre la traite des personnes et le trafic illicite de migrants (2015-2020), l’ONUDC a établi comme priorité l’assistance directe des victimes de traite des personnes et des migrants vulnérables. La délégation belge a choisi de se rendre dans les lieux où ces personnes sont directement assistées afin d’aller à leur rencontre et de mesurer l’impact des activités soutenues par les agences des Nations Unies.

Le 26 avril 2017, le Ministre s’est d’abord rendu à « la Maison Rose », où des dizaines de jeunes femmes sont logées avec leurs enfants afin de leur venir en aide suite à des violences ou des viols. « Univers’elles » est une association subventionnée par UNICEF et l’ONUDC afin de mettre en œuvre l’assistance de ces jeunes femmes et aussi de leurs enfants. Elle a été créée il y a 8 ans et représente aujourd’hui « une famille reconstituée » pour les femmes victimes de viol, selon les mots de Mona Chasseiro, fondatrice de la Maison. Finalement, une présentation du schéma organisationnel du Comité Départemental de Protection de l’Enfant (CDPE) a permis de montrer le travail de l’association en coopération avec les acteurs locaux de Guediawaye et Pikine et de rencontrer les hommes et femmes impliqués dans l’accompagnement des victimes.

Le Samu Social est un autre partenaire de mise en œuvre de l’ONUDC que le Ministre a choisi de visiter. Le Samu Social est un acteur mondial qui combat l’exclusion sous toutes ces formes. Au Sénégal, cette organisation vient en aide aux enfants des rues, victimes de maltraitance et d’exploitation par la mendicité forcée. En effet, des dizaines de milliers de jeunes garçons communément appelés Talibés sont forcés à mendier à travers le Sénégal, comme faisant partie de leurs études islamiques au sein des écoles (appelées daaras) administrées par des maîtres coraniques. Tout le travail du Samu Social vise à sortir ces enfants de la rue afin d’envisager un retour auprès des familles et des communautés.

Dès leur arrivée au centre d’hébergement de Ouakam, les résidents du centre, des jeunes garçons environ âgés de 5 à 15 ans, ont accueilli la délégation avec des chants de bienvenue et après la visite des locaux, la délégation a entamé une discussion avec les membres de l’équipe. Le Samu Social a insisté sur les mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants Talibés par certains chefs des daraas et surtout sur le besoin d’assistance psychologique de ces enfants, pour la plupart, traumatisés et affectés par un phénomène de suradaptation paradoxale à l’environnement hostile de la rue. La directrice du Samu Social, Isabelle De Guillebon, a reconnu que les choses évoluaient au Sénégal depuis plusieurs années mais a également exprimé la nécessité d’une volonté politique plus forte et pérenne pour mettre fin au problème de la mendicité forcée et des enfants des rues.

La journée s’est clôturée par un discours de SE Mr Alexander de Croo lors de la réception à l’ambassade de Belgique à Dakar où Coumba Gawlo, ambassadrice de bonne volonté de l’ONUDC était également présente afin de partager sa récente expérience auprès des femmes victimes de traite et forcées de prostituer dans les sites miniers informels de Kedougou.

Au mois d’avril 2017, l’ONUDC a établi de nouveaux partenariats avec quatre organisations et structures de prise en charge pour l’identification et l’assistance aux victimes de traite. Il s’agit de l’organisation Univers’Elles, de l’Empire des Enfants, du CEGID et d’Action Enfance qui recevront entre 30 000 et 40 000 USD par organisation pour des projets d’une durée d’un an.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM