WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

Demographic Dividend Task Force

What is called Demographic dividend is the benefits that economies would be likely to take out of a particular phase of the demographic transition during which numerical evolution of different age groups leads to maximize the proportion of people in employment, source of wealth, and minimize correspondingly one of the non-working population, source of expenditure.

When a society enters the first phase of demographic transition (here denoted phase 1), she begins by recording a sharp decline in mortality while fertility - because behaviors have a certain inertia - remains stable or decreases only slightly. This gap between now low mortality and high fertility obviously always leads to a rapid increase in the workforce. Then gradually (phase 2), in turn the birth rate tends to decline and descends to the level of mortality, leading the country towards certain demographic stability or at least to a measured expansion.

When entering the second period, when fertility started to decline in the past few years, comes the opportunity of this demographic dividend supposed beneficial to the economy.
At that moment, indeed, three factors combine to reduce the part of non-working population and increase the people in employment, thus promoting the production of wealth while minimizing the weight of spending.
- Elderly people are limited in number (1).
- The number of young people starts to decrease (2).
- The number of people in employment is very important (3).
The first two elements reduce the proportion of dependents limiting spending on pensions, health care and education costs, the third maximizes the proportion of people likely to produce wealth for the economy, permitting to generate growth and finance expenses related to the first two categories.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Taskforce dividende démographique

On appelle dividende démographique les avantages que les économies seraient susceptibles de tirer d’une phase particulière de la transition démographique durant laquelle l’évolution numérique des différentes classes d’âge conduit à maximiser la proportion d’actifs, source de richesses, et à minimiser corrélativement celle des inactifs source de dépenses.

Quand une société entre dans la première phase de la transition démographique (ici notée phase 1), elle commence par enregistrer une forte baisse de la mortalité tandis que la fécondité - car les comportements présentent une certaine inertie - reste stable ou ne diminue que faiblement. Ce décalage entre mortalité désormais basse et fécondité toujours élevée conduit évidemment à une hausse rapide des effectifs. Puis, peu à peu (phase 2), la natalité tend à son tour à baisser et à redescendre au niveau de la mortalité, conduisant ainsi les pays vers certaine stabilité démographique ou au moins vers une expansion mesurée.
C’est à l’entrée dans cette seconde période, quand la fécondité a commencé à baisser depuis quelques années, que se présente l’opportunité de ce fameux dividende démographique supposé bénéfique à l’économie.
A ce moment en effet, trois phénomènes se conjuguent pour réduire la part des inactifs et augmenter celle des actifs, favorisant ainsi la production de richesses tout en minimisant le poids des dépenses.
- les personnes âgées restent en nombre limité (1).
- le nombre de jeunes commence à diminuer (2).
- le nombre d’actifs est très important (3).
Les deux premiers éléments diminuent la proportion de personnes à charge limitant les dépenses de retraites, de soins et de frais d’éducation, le troisième maximise la part des personnes susceptibles de produire les richesses pour l’économie, permettant ainsi de générer de la croissance et de financer les dépenses afférentes aux deux premières catégories.

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM