WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

Resident Coordinator office

The System of United Nations Resident Coordinator

In Senegal, the United Nations System counts more than thirty agencies, funds and programs. Among them, some are regional or sub-regional and represent several countries. The diversity of their mandates and their competences is propitious to inter-agencies cooperation within the United Nations’ country team through the System of the Resident Coordinator. In Senegal, the function of Resident Coordinator is assumed by the Representative of the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), Mrs. Bintou Djibo.

What is the Resident Coordinator’s System?
The System of the Resident Coordinator was set up with the known objective of making the support of the country team more coherent and more effective with regard to the requests and the needs of the countries. The strengthening of the dialogue and the collaboration between agencies, funds and organizations and the continual search for harmonization and simplification of the procedures and mechanisms of development support constitutes one of the priority missions of the System of the Resident Coordinator.

PNG - 109 kb
Resident coordinator of operational activities of the United Nations system in Senegal

This coordination among the activities of agencies, organizations and UN funds works essentially on two levels: within the community of the investors and development partners, and within the Team-country between the various represented entities of the United Nations.

The Heads of the Agencies and the Representatives of the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and the International Organization of Migrations, meet every month on initiative of the Resident Coordinator according to a rotating presidency ( Country team), assumed alternately by each of the agencies and institutions to exchange their points of view on the situation of the country and coordinate their various actions and development programs.

The mandate of the System of the Resident Coordinator

1. The main objective of the operational activities of the United Nations System is to promote the autonomy of recipients countries through the multilateral cooperation. These operational activities distinguish themselves by their universal and neutral character and by their capacity to answer in a flexible way the needs of recipients countries. They form actually a critical and unique resource of capacities strengthening of recipients countries to assure the management of their own processes of development.
2. The coordination of the external assistance, including the one supplied by the United Nations System, in support to the national strategies and priorities, is under the responsibility of the Government. The System of the Resident Coordinator aims to facilitate and to support the exercise, by the Government, of the responsibility of coordination.
3. Helped by a coordinated action of the United Nations System from the headquarters, the System of the Resident Coordinator aims to improve the efficiency and the effectiveness of the countries operational activities, through multidisciplinary approach coordinated to the needs of recipient countries, by taking into account complementarities of the mandates of the United Nations System and the will to carry out a work distribution which is consistent with the respective fields of expertise of the funds, programs and specialized agencies.
Contact : Phone : 33 859 67 01 – Fax : 33 820 81 48

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Bureau du Coordonnateur Résident

Le Système du Coordonnateur Résident des Nations Unies

Au Sénégal, le Système des Nations Unies compte plus de trente agences, fonds et programmes dont certains sont des représentations régionales ou sous-régionales couvrants plusieurs pays. La diversité de leurs mandats et de leurs compétences est propice à la coopération inter-agences qui s’exerce au sein de l’Equipe-pays des Nations Unies à travers le Système du Coordonnateur Résident. Au Sénégal, la fonction de Coordonnateur Résident est assumée par le Représentant du Programme des Nations Unies pour le Développement (PNUD), Mme Priya Gajraj.

Qu’est-ce que le Système du Coordonnateur Résident ?

PNG - 109 ko
Mme Priya Gajraj , Coordonnateur Résident du Système des Nations Unies au Sénégal - Représentant Résident du PNUD

Le Système du Coordonnateur Résident a été mis en place avec l’objectif avéré de rendre l’appui de l’Equipe-pays plus cohérent et plus efficace par rapport aux demandes et besoins des pays. Le renforcement de la concertation et de la collaboration entre les agences, fonds et organisations et la recherche continuelle d’une harmonisation et d’une simplification des procédures et mécanismes d’appui au développement constitue ainsi un des missions prioritaires du Système du Coordonnateur Résident.

Cette coordination qui s‘opère entre les activités des agences, organisations et fonds onusiens s’exerce essentiellement à deux niveaux : au sein de la communauté de l’ensemble des bailleurs de fonds et des partenaires au développement, et au sein de l’Equipe-pays entre les différentes entités des Nations Unies représentées.

Les Chefs d’Agences auxquels se joignent les Représentants du Fonds Monétaire International, la Banque Mondiale et l’Organisation Internationale des Migrations, se réunissent chaque mois sur l’initiative du Coordonnateur Résident selon une présidence tournante (Equipe-pays), assumée à tour de rôle par chacune des agences et institutions afin d’échanger leurs points de vue sur la situation du pays et de coordonner leurs différentes actions et programmes de développement.

Mandat du Système du Coordonnateur Résident

1. L’objectif principal des activités opérationnelles du Système des Nations Unies est de promouvoir l’autonomie des pays récipiendaires à travers la coopération multilatérale. Ces activités opérationnelles se distinguent par leur caractère universel et neutre et par leur capacité à répondre de manière flexible aux besoins des pays récipiendaires. Elles constituent en fait une ressource critique et unique de renforcement des capacités des pays récipiendaires à assurer la gestion de leurs propres processus de développement.

2. La coordination de l’ensemble de l’assistance extérieure, y compris celle fournie par le Système des Nations Unies, en appui aux priorités et stratégies nationales, relève en premier lieu de la responsabilité du Gouvernement. Le Système du Coordonnateur Résident vise à faciliter et à appuyer l’exercice, par le Gouvernement, de cette responsabilité de coordination.

3. Appuyé en cela par une action coordonnée du Système des Nations Unies au niveau du Siège, le Système du Coordonnateur Résident vise à améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité des activités opérationnelles au niveau des pays, à travers une approche multidisciplinaire et coordonnée aux besoins des pays récipiendaires, en tenant compte des complémentarités des mandats du Système des Nations Unies et de la volonté de procéder à une distribution de travail qui est en cohérence avec les domaines de compétence respectifs des fonds, programmes et agences spécialisées.

Contact : Téléphone : 33 859 67 01 – Fax : 33 820 81 48

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR