WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

Workshop on capacity building and planning to address school-related gender-based violence.

Dakar, 10th of February 2017 - The UNESCO Multisectoral Regional Office in Dakar will organize a Workshop on capacity-building and planning to address school-related gender-based violence (SRGBV), in partnership with the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development, UNICEF, Plan International, UNFPA, UN Women and KOICA, in Dakar from the 14th to 17th of February 2017.

The Global Education Monitoring Report estimates that 246 million students may be exposed to harassment or assault and that about 60 million girls (29 million boys) are either sexually abused on their way to or within school grounds each year. This data highlights the omnipresence of school-related gender-based violence (SRGBV) against children. SRGBV partly explains the difference experienced between girls and boys in the completion of their primary education as well as their transition to and completion of secondary education.

In West and Central Africa (WCA), gender parity scores are the lowest for both primary education (0.89) and secondary education (0.81) and teenage pregnancies between the ages of 15 to 19 remain at 128 births per 1000. It is therefore difficult for children and young people, especially girls, to fully exercise their rights to safe, inclusive and quality education in the region.

In this context, UNESCO supports national responses to SRGBV through several projects in WCA including Cameroon, Mali, Senegal and Togo. The meeting in Dakar will therefore act as a prelude and complement to these various projects with the aim of strengthening the capacities of the executives of the ministries of education (Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal and Togo) for the implementation of effective programs in areas relating to health and well-being, including gender-based violence and also early and unwanted pregnancies in schools. In particular, the workshop aims to strengthen participants’ proficiency towards addressing SRGBV and towards developing a roadmap for the realization of this initiative at the country level, thus contributing to achieving the right to safe education for children and young people, especially girls. The workshop will also be an opportunity to launch in AOC the «Global Guidance on addressing School Related Gender Based Violence » that UNESCO and UN women just released.

SRGBV remains one of the main obstacles towards achieving gender parity at all levels of education, alongside other factors such as poverty and being part of a marginalized group.

Agenda

A press point will take place at 10.30 am on the 14th of February 2017, at Le Ndiambour hotel.

For more information about the workshop content and agenda please contact:
Xavier Hospital: x.hospital@unesco.org
William Ngué: w.ngue@unesco.org

Press contact:
Marion Piccio: m.piccio@unesco.org

Venue :
Le Ndiambour, Hôtel et Résidence
121 rue Carnot, Dakar, Sénégal
Phone. : (+221) 33 889 42 89
Mail: ndiambour@orange.sn

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Atelier de renforcement de capacités et de planification en réponse aux violences de genre en milieu scolaire.

Dakar, le 10 février 2017 - Le Bureau Régional Multisectoriel de l’UNESCO à Dakar organise un atelier de renforcement de capacités et de planification en réponse aux violences de genre en milieu scolaire (VGMS), en partenariat avec le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Développement international de France, l’UNICEF, Plan International, l’UNFPA, ONU Femmes et KOICA, à Dakar du 14 au 17 février 2017.

Le Rapport mondial de suivi de l’Education pour tous estime à 246 millions le nombre d’élèves pouvant faire l’objet de harcèlement ou d’agressions et à 60 millions celui des filles (29 millions de garçons) subissant des abus sexuels sur le chemin ou dans l’enceinte de l’école chaque année. Des données qui soulignent l’omniprésence des violences de genre à l’encontre des enfants à l’école. Les VGMS expliquent en partie la différence entre filles et garçons dans l’achèvement du cycle primaire, la transition et l’achèvement du cycle secondaire.

En Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre (AOC), les indices de parité des sexes sont les moins élevés tant pour le primaire (0,89) que le secondaire (0,81) et les grossesses chez les adolescentes de 15 à 19 ans demeurent à 128 naissances pour 1000. Difficile, par conséquent, pour les enfants et les jeunes, en particulier les filles, d’exercer pleinement leur droit à une éducation sûre, inclusive et de qualité dans la région.

C’est dans ce contexte que l’UNESCO soutient les réponses nationales aux VGMS par le biais de plusieurs projets en AOC, notamment au Cameroun, Mali, Sénégal et Togo. La rencontre de Dakar se déroulera donc en prélude et complément de ces différents projets et vise à renforcer les capacités des cadres des ministères en charge de l’éducation (Cameroun, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Sénégal et Togo) pour la mise en œuvre de programmes efficaces dans les domaines liés à la santé et au bien-être, notamment les violences de genre, y compris les grossesses précoces et non désirées, en milieu scolaire. L’atelier a notamment pour objectif de renforcer la maîtrise des participants en matière de réponse aux VGMS, et d’élaborer une feuille de route d’opérationnalisation de cette réponse au niveau pays, contribuant ainsi à la réalisation du droit à une éducation sûre pour les enfants et les jeunes, en particulier les filles. La rencontre sera également l’occasion de lancer en AOC les « Orientations mondiales : Lutte contre la violence de genre en milieu scolaire » que l’UNESCO et l’ONU femmes viennent de publier.

Les VGMS représentent aujourd’hui l’un des principaux obstacles à la réalisation de la parité filles-garçons à tous les niveaux d’enseignement, aux côtés d’autres facteurs comme la pauvreté et l’appartenance à un groupe marginalisé.

Voir le Programme atelier VGMS Dakar

Un point presse se tiendra à 10h30 le mardi 14 février 2017, à l’hôtel le Ndiambour

Pour plus d’informations sur l’atelier et l’agenda merci de bien vouloir contacter :
Xavier Hospital : x.hospital@unesco.org
William Ngué : w.ngue@unesco.org

Contact presse :
Marion Piccio : m.piccio@unesco.org

Lieu de l’atelier :
Le Ndiambour, Hôtel et Résidence
121 rue Carnot, Dakar, Sénégal
Tél. : (+221) 33 889 42 89
Adresse électronique : ndiambour@orange.sn

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM