WELCOME AT UN | YOU ARE AT HOME
| English | Français

United
Nations System
in Senegal

Régional workshop on professional standards for basic education teachers in West and Central Africa : Talent / SDG4 Network Inauguration

26-28 October 2016, Dakar- Senegal: This Regional Workshop will bring together twenty-six ECOWAS and ECCAS countries as well as development agents who are active in issues related to the quality of teaching. The workshop aims to bring all countries to the same level of information as to the most promising initiatives to professionalize teaching (including that relating to the development of national and regional qualifications frameworks for basic education teachers and that relating to the development of a regional curriculum framework for the training of these teachers). The workshop will also allow countries to identify the synergies needed in each country between these initiatives, so that they actually contribute to enhance learning outcomes at basic education level.

The workshop is hosted in Dakar and will be organized around two main highlights.

1. The first day will be dedicated to the official launch of the TALENT platform (the Teaching and Learning: Educators’ Network for Transformation’, created as part of the Regional Coordination Group on Sustainable Development Goal 4, which is related to the Education 2030 Agenda to “ensure inclusive and quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all”).

2. The second and the third days will be devoted to the sharing of experiences and the identification of national and sub-regional roadmaps for the adoption of professional standards for basic education of teachers and the development of initial and continuous training curricula aligned to those standards.

Participants will include the Heads of Teachers Education and professional development of ECOWAS (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo) as well as and ECCAS countries (Angola, Burundi, DRC, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, CAR, Sao Tome, DRC, Chad, Rwanda), Development agents including Civil Society Organizations, Representatives of Regional Economic Communities (ECOWAS, UEMOA, ECCAS), regional and international experts, teachers organizations.

The objective of this workshop is for National Executives to have a better understanding of the specificities and complementarities among the various initiatives underway in West and Central Africa which aim to strengthen the quality of teaching and learning at Basic Education level.

This workshop is organized in the framework of the TALENT, a network launched in June 2016 by the Regional Coordination Group on SDG-4 to support West and Central African states in addressing one of the major challenges: improving Teaching and Learning”. TALENT brings together several organizations (UNESCO, CONFEMEN/PASEC, ANCEFA, REESAO, UNICEF, etc.) and its Secretariat is hosted by UNESCO Dakar Office.

To follow the event on twitter, the official hashtags are:
#TALENT #Education2030 #qualifiedteachers

Press Contact UNESCO:
Marion Piccio: m.piccio@unesco.org
Additional information on the workshop content and agenda:
Valérie Djioze : v.djioze@unesco.org

Venue :

Hôtel des Almadies
Adresse : La Pointe des Almadies. BP 3236 Dakar / Sénégal
Téléphone : +221 33 869 54 54/ Fax : +221 33 820 43 79
Email : respcommercial@vacaplesalmadies.com

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM
FLICKR

BIENVENUE À L'ONU | VOUS ÊTES CHEZ VOUS
| English | Français

Système
des Nations unies
au Sénégal

Atelier Régional sur les normes professionnelles des enseignants de l’éducation de base en Afrique de L’Ouest et du Centre - Inauguration du Réseau Talent/ODD4

26-28 Octobre 2016, Dakar- Sénégal : L’atelier régional réunira vingt-six pays de la CEDEAO et de la CEEAC et les partenaires au développement actifs sur les questions relatives à la qualité de l’enseignement. Il aura comme objectif de permettre à tous les pays d’être au même niveau d’information sur les initiatives les plus prometteuses (notamment celle relative au développement de cadres nationaux et régionaux de certification pour les enseignants de l’éducation de base et celle relative à l’élaboration d’un cadre curriculaire régional pour la formation de ces mêmes enseignants). L’atelier permettra également aux pays d’identifier les synergies à établir entre ces initiatives, dans chaque pays, afin qu’elles contribuent réellement à améliorer les résultats d’apprentissage au niveau de l’éducation de base.

L’atelier, qui se déroulera à Dakar, sera organisé autour de deux événements principaux.

1. La première journée, consacrée au lancement officiel de la plateforme TALENT (le réseau régional des éducateurs pour la transformation de l’enseignement apprentissage, créé dans le cadre des travaux du Groupe de Coordination Régionale de l’Objectif de Développement Durable n.4, aussi appelé Éducation 2030 car il vise à « assurer l’accès à tous d’ici 2030 une éducation de qualité, sur un pied d’égalité, et promouvoir les possibilités d’apprentissage tout au long de la vie »).

2. La deuxième et la troisième journée seront dédiées au partage d’expériences et à l’identification de feuilles de routes nationales et sous régionales pour l’adoption des normes professionnelles pour les enseignants de l’éducation de base et à l’élaboration de référentiels de formation initiale et continue alignés à ces normes.

Les participants incluent les Responsables de la Formation initiale et continue des enseignants des pays de la CEDEAO (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cap Vert, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambie, Ghana, Guinée, Guinée Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sénégal, Sierra Leone et Togo) et de la CEEAC (Angola, Burundi, Cameroun, Congo, Gabon, Guinée Equatoriale, République Centre Africaine, République Démocratique du Congo, Sao Tomé et Principe, Rwanda, Tchad), les partenaires au développement y compris de la société civile, les représentants des communautés économiques régionales (CEDEAO, UEMOA, CEEAC), les experts régionaux et internationaux et les organisations d’enseignants.

L’objectif de cet atelier est de permettre aux responsables nationaux de la formation des enseignants d’avoir une meilleure compréhension des spécificités et complémentarités entre les différentes initiatives en cours en Afrique de l’Ouest et du centre, qui visent à renforcer la qualité de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage des enfants et des jeunes.

Cet atelier est organisé dans le cadre de TALENT, le réseau d’acteurs de l’éducation lancé en juin 2016 par le Groupe de Coordination régionale de l’Objectif de développement durable n°4 sur l’Education pour appuyer les états d’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre dans l’amélioration de l’enseignement-apprentissage, l’un des principaux défis de ces deux régions. TALENT regroupe plusieurs organisations (UNESCO, CONFEMEN/PASEC, ANCEFA, REESAO, UNICEF, etc.) et son secrétariat est basé au bureau de l’UNESCO à Dakar.

Pour suivre l’évènement sur Twitter :

#TALENT #Education2030 #enseignantsqualifiés

Contact Presse UNESCO :
Marion Piccio : m.piccio@unesco.org

Pour toute information additionnelle sur le contenu de l’atelier et l’agenda :
Valérie Djioze : v.djioze@unesco.org
Spécialiste de Programme, secteur Éducation, UNESCO Dakar

Lieu :

Hôtel des Almadies

Adresse : La Pointe des Almadies. BP 3236 Dakar / Sénégal
Téléphone : +221 33 869 54 54/ Fax : +221 33 820 43 79
Email : respcommercial@vacaplesalmadies.com

Facebook ONU

Chaîne video ONU
INSTAGRAM